Monday, December 07, 2015

Entrepreneurial Farmer
by Ambrosio R. Villorente

The National Irrigation Administration and the Office of the President of the Philippines will inaugurate their project: Aklan River Irrigation System (RIS) West Damsite in Brgy. Kinalangay Nuevo, Malinao, Aklan. There is no date stated in the program.
The Program of Activities consists of two (2) parts. Part 1 starts at 11: 00 o’clock in the morning with the Blessing and Groundbreaking ceremonies of Aklan RIS West Damsite in Kinalangan Nuevo Malinao. The blessing will be officiated by Rev. Father   Edwin M. Chio.
Capping and Lowering of the time capsule will follow. Engr. Benjamin P. Sanchez & Engr. Julieta E. Gallardo will place the materials in the Time Capsule;  DPWH Sec. Regelio L. Singson and Cong. Teodorico T. Haresco Jr. will place the Layout Map; Engr. Florencio F. Padernal and Gov. Florencio T. Miraflores – the Bible; Engr. Gerardo P. Corsiga and Vice Gov. Gabrielle V. Calizo-Quimpo-poins; Engr. Wilson C. Rey and Mayor Wilbert Ariel I. Igoy – Program of Work; Engr. Jesus I. Dato-on and Ms. Lyn Grace B. Causing – Program of Activities; Engr. Elena T. Basco & Engr. Josephine I. Iquiña – Current Newspaper; and Punong Brgy. Vivencio Infante and Ms. Gina C. Terencio – List of Irrigators Associations.
Part 2 of the program starts at 1:00 o’clock in the afternoon at the Covered Court, Poblacion, Malinao. It will start with a prayer lead by Rev. Father, Edwin C. Chio. Singing of the Philippine National Hymn follows. 
Malinao Mayor Wilbert Ariel I. Igoy will acknowledge and welcome the guests and visitors.
The Aklan RIS Improvement Project will be presented and discussed by Engr. Gerardo P. Corsiga. His presentation  will be followed by four kinds of messages to be delivered by Aklan Governor Florencio T. Miraflores, Engr. Florencio F. Padernal, Cong. Teodorico T. Haresco, Jr. and DPWH Sec. Rogelio C. Singson.
The program ends after the Closing Remarks of Engr. Wilson C. Rey, Engr. Raquel D. Reontoy and Mr. John Lastierre are the master of ceremonies.
Where are the farmers? Particularly the Rice Farmers, the principal consumers of irrigation water? They just serve as the onlookers. They are not concerned in the construction of Aklan RIS. They are not briefed in the use, care and preservation of the system. Nobody thought of the farmers who with ample water in the rice fields will produce more grains for the consumers.
Aklan RIS improvement Project covers the towns of Banga, Kalibo,  New Washington, Lezo, Numancia and Makato. It will irrigate 3,963 hectares of rice fields. Some 308 hectares will be added to a total of 4,211 hectares.  According to the report, the present system benefits 8,746 farmers. With the additional area to be irrigated, the total beneficiaries will increase to 9,911 farmers.
The project will cost 655.2 million pesos in 2015 to 2018. The irrigation project aims to increase palay production from 78 cavans to 90 cavans per hectare in the wet season and 70 cavans to 90 cavans per hectare in the dry season.
PRC Aklan is 59 years old 
The Philippine Red Cross (PRC) Aklan chapter will celebrate its 59th founding anniversary at 5:00 o’clock in the afternoon on Saturday, December 19, 2015. It will be held  in Royal Suites Hotel, Rizal Street, Kalibo, Aklan according to Ms. Arcely P. Pelayo-chapter administration .
The theme of the celebration is: “Volunteers are the Pillars of Philippine Red Cross: Givers of Hope, Inspiration and Compassion.”  
To recall, the first chairman of the PRC Aklan chapter was Mr. Mariano Capanas (1956-1958) followed by Atty. Ben Hur C. Mobo (1970-74), Lucio I. Ricafuente (1974-78), Dr. Eriberto L. Venus (1978-84), Mayor Wilihado C. Regalado (1984-86), German C. Palmani (1986-90), Paquito S. Saratiosa (1990-2000), and Atty. Tomas S. Raz(2000-05).
The present Board of Directors is chaired by Atty. Ronquillo C. Tolentino with the following: Dr. Ambrosio R. Villorente- vice chair with Dr. Nilda B. Tambong, Dr. Daisy S. Briones, Atty. Plaridel M. Morania, Remia H. Donguines, Dr. Jesse M. Gomez, Vice Mayor Madeline A. Regalado, Sefalina D. Peralta, Dr. Cynthia C. Dela Cruz, Dr. Marianne L. Quimpo, Hon. Augusto C. Tolentino, Hon. Bayani M. Cordova , Hon. Soviet Russia  A. Dela Cruz, Errol R. Ordines, Engr. Noel L. Fuentebella, and Lt. Col. Paulito R. Idul./ MP

No comments: