Sunday, June 27, 2010

Alan Celino Defeats Vic Bermejo

by Benny Cortes
Roxas City - Surprisingly, in a boxing lingo, former City Vice Mayor Alan Celino, out slugged incumbent City Mayor Vicente B. Bermejo, for the mayoralty post of the city of Roxas in the first automated national and local elections on May l0 this year. Celino of the Liberal Party garnered 33,l33 votes as against Bermejo’s 32,436 votes, or a margin of 697 votes in favor of Celino.

The followers of Bermejo were caught by surprise, they said. They believed that prior to the May l0 elections, borrowing cockfighting lingo, Bermejo was llamado, while Celino was dejado. What went wrong? YOUR GUES IS AS GOOD as mine. Bermejo is a first termer city chief executive of Roxas City. He was formerly the municipal mayor of Panay, Capiz for nine years and provincial governor of Capiz, also for nine years.

Other Roxs City candidates elected are vice mayor, Atty. Ronnie T Dadivas,  (LP), re-elected with 39,940 votes, as against incumbent city councilor Dennis Q Altobano (Ugyon), with 2l,365 vote; and Isagani C. Acat (Ind.), with l,090 votes.

For city councilors, incumbent city councilor Erwin B. Sicad tops with 35,536 votes; former city councilor Teresita H. Almalbis (Ugyon), 34,874; Powel del Rosario (LP), 33,l66; Matthew James Viterbo (LP),29,ll9; Jennifer Ann Anisco (LP), 27,4l9; incumbent city councilor Jose Agdalipe (Ugyon), 24,925; Erlynne Lim (LP), 24,328;  Emmanuel Billones Jr. (LP), 24,l55; incumbent city councilor Carla B. Abela (UGYON), 22,792; and former city prosecutor Julius L. Abela (LP), 22,64l.

Roxas City has 84,689 total registered voters as of December 2009. The total number of voters who actually voted was 69,l40. It has 79 polling centers, 48l precincts and ll2 clustered precincts.

For the province of Capiz, for congressman in the 1st district, re-electionist Rep.  Antonio A. Del Rosario (LP), garnered 33,53l votes; former Rep. Rodriguez D. Dadivas (Ind.), l6,547;;incumbent Capiz Vice Gov. Felipe B. Barredo (Ugyon), l4,272;and Conrado A. Tinsay II (Ind.), 933 votes.

For congressman, 2nd district, Jane Castro of Dumalag town (LAKAS), with 109, 147 votes against former PNP Chief Roberto T. Lastimoso (LP), 44,32l votes.
For provincial governor: incumbent Capiz Gov. Victor A. Tanco (LP), l89,50l votes; Jocelyn I. Bolante (UGYON), l2l,l76; and Zenon E. Amoroso (Ind.) 2,329 votes.

For vice governor: former board member Esteban Evan B. Contreras (LP), l70,340 votes, as against former city councilor Mark Anthony G. Ortiz (Ugyon), l23,2l0 votes.
For national candidates: For president, Benigno Simeon C. Aquino III (LP), 4,07ll votes; Manuel B. Villar Jr. (NP), l0,l45; Gilbert C. Teodoro, Jr. (Lakas), 7,687; Joseph Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino), 6,280; and Eduardo C. Villanueva (Bangon Pilipinas), 998 votes.

For vice president: Sen. Manuel A. Roxas  (LP), 39,609 votes; Jejomar C. Binay (Partido Demokratiko), 23,597; Loren Legarda (NPC), l,992; Bayani F. Fernando (Bagumbayan-VNP) 645' and Eduardo B. Manzano (Lakas) 388 votes.

The top l2 senatorial candidates: Franklin M. Drilon (LP), 40,027; Meriam Defensor Santiago (Peoples Reform Party),33,685; Ramon B. Bong Revilla Jr. (Lakas) 32,6l6;Jinggoy E. Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino),31,967; Ralph G. Recto (LP), 26,803; Ana Hontiveros-Baraquel (LP), 26,322;Juan Ponce Enrile (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino), 26057; Teofisto D. Guingona III (LP),24,82l; Sergio D. Osmena III (Ind.), 24,800; Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. (NP), 23,727; Pilar Juliana S. Cayetano (NP), 22,799 and Rozzano Rufino B.Biazon (LP), 22,l87 votes. /MP 

No comments: