Friday, June 28, 2013

Justice Carpio to Administer Oaths of Office To 2013-16 Aklan Officials


Associate Justice Antonio Carpio of the Supreme Court of the Philippines shall administer the oaths of office of the incoming elected public officials of Aklan. The induction ceremony will be held at the Gov. Augusto B. Legaspi Memorial Sports and Cultural Center, Provincial Capitol, Estancia, Kalibo at 10:00 in the morning on Sunday, June 30.

To be sworn to office are Congressman-elect of Aklan, Teodorico T. Haresco, Jr., Governor-elect Florencio T. Miraflores and reelected Vice Governor Gabrielle V. Calizo-Quimpo.

Carpio will also administer the Oath of Office to the elected and reelected Sangguniang Panlalawigan members belonging to the local administration party. They are members-elect Jose Enrique M. Miraflores, Ramon S. Gelito, Esel Flores and Nelson Santamaria of the West district; and SP members-elect Emmanuel Soviet de la Cruz, Lilian Q. Tirol, and Plaridel M. MoraƱia of the East district.

SP members-elect Rodson F. Mayor, Harry Sucgang and Roberto M. Garcia, Jr. are still to indicate their interest to join the oath-taking ceremonies with Justice Carpio as inducting officer.

According to the organizer of the oath-taking ceremony, some elected public officials of seven towns in Aklan will join the induction ceremonies with the provincial elected officials.

Farewells On The Last Session Day 

It was not all words of farewell and bidding goodbyes. Rather, it was more work for the 15th (outgoing) Aklan Sangguniang Panlalawigan during its last session day, its 21st, on June 26 at its session hall, Provincial Capitol.

The 15th SP wrote finis to the long drawn Administrative Case No. 2 filed by Arturo Gregorio against the incumbent Altavas Vice Mayor Joly A. Solita and his SB Members.

This SP has earlier dismissed the above-cited administrative case but outgoing Gov. Carlito S. Marquez sought a review of the SP action by the investigating committee in the light of the recent ruling of the regional trial court in favor of Gregorio on a separate and distinct petition.

During the June 26 session, the body in plenary decided to declare the case already closed for lack of material time to give way to the request of Gov. Marquez for review.

Also during the June 26 session, the outgoing SP shelved the review of two vital planning documents submitted by the Office of the Provincial Governor to await for the assumption of Governor-elect Florencio T. Miraflores who may introduce new inputs to the plan. These are the Strategic Financial Management Plan and the Provincial Road Network Development Plan initiated by the province’s participation to the road program of AUSAid.

Likewise, in the same session, the annual budget of Libacao carrying total appropriation of P71.978 million was approved but the body disallowed excess appropriations for personal services of 2.6 percent over the statutory limitations.

Likewise, Malay’s MEEDO budget for 2013 of P20M was approved and declared operative in its entirety.

The outgoing SP likewise approved supplemental budgets of Madalag, New Washington and Banga and Kalibo’s ordinance on the creation of an office for persons with disability affairs was also approved. The body returned the supplemental budgets No. 1 and No. 2 of Numancia without action for failure to submit budget documents to the Provincial Budget Office.

The session ended with farewells and goodbyes for outgoing SP Members Selwyn C. Ibarreta, Gerick M. Templonuevo, Victor Manuel M. Garcia, Jonna I. Morales-Torres, Daisy S. Briones, Raymar A. Rebaldo and Jean O. Rodriguez. /MP

No comments: