Thursday, October 23, 2014

PIA & DENR Fete Essay Writing Contest Winners At Kapihan Forum
by Ernesto T. Solidum
Photo shows Albert T. Rapista, champion in the Essay Writing Contest sponsored by PIA and DENR is shown with his prizes 3rd from right. Others in the picture are (L to R) Ms. Venus Villanueva-PIA, Ms. Marlene B. Aborka-DENR, Mr. Odon Bandiola-Aklan SP Secretary, Atty. Allen S. Quimpo-Northwestern Visayan Colleges, and Dr. Ambrosio R. Villorente-Madyaas Pen.

Kapihan Sa Aklan on October 11, 2014 gave way to the Award Ceremonies to the winners of the Essay Writing Contest, to recognize and honor the cream of the crop of budding journalists in the college level for the spot Essay Writing Contest. Some 25 contestants from all tertiary schools in Aklan vied for the coveted prize but only three (3) won on the topic, “Climate Change Mitigation and Adaptation.”

Mr. John Albert T. Rapista of Garcia College of Technology got first place with a trophy and cash prize of P10,000. Second place is Ms. Marry Claire Gellang of Aklan Catholic College with P7,000 cash and certificate and Ms Dalyn R. Oliveros of ASU Teachers’ Education College, Makato got 3rd place with P5,000 cash and certificate. 

Their respective schools were also awarded certificate of recognition which are Garcia College of Technology, Kalibo; Aklan Catholic College, Kalibo; and Aklan State University, Makato Campus.
The sponsors of this year’s event are the Department of Environment and Natural Resources headed by Ms. Ivene Reyes, PENRO Aklan and Philippine Information Agency – Ms. Venus G. Villanueva. The essay writing contest aimed to create public awareness and disseminate vital information on climate aberration such as El Nino and La Nina, super typhoons and Noachan floods or seismic upheavals like volcanic eruptions and earthquakes may prove invaluable in our quest to mitigate the ill effects of climate change.

According to Ms. Villanueva, the three provincial winners will represent Aklan at the regional level contest on October 17, 2014 in Iloilo City. This excludes Antique because they failed to meet the required number of 25 contestants. OIC CENRO Aklan Ms. Marlene B. Aborka along with the Aklan SP Secretariat headed by Mr. Odon S. Bandiola pledged all out support to the delegates.

In the open forum that followed, Ms. Aborka discussed “global warming is about temperature rising as carbon emissions from cars, factories and power plants trapped in the stratosphere creating the greenhouse phenomenon. Climate change is the direct effect of global warming. This is characterized by rising sea levels as polar ice caps melt and inundate low lying islands and atolls. A significant occurrence could be super typhoons, droughts, storm surge and tsunamis that could impact food security, health, water resources and political stability.”

Mitigating the effects of climate change is currently undertaken both at domestic and international levels. This includes re-greening program of DENR (planting of 1.5 billion indigenous trees in 6 years), preference of clean or renewable energy, solid waste management and disaster risk reduction and management. The data from the UN University’s Institute for Environment and Human Security and German Alliance Development Works rank the Philippines third on climate change vulnerability test after the first two countries: Vanuato and Tonga. Super typhoon Yolanda in 2013 affected directly and indirectly 0.6 to 1.5 million Filipinos who became poor and another four million to fall deeper into poverty according to Asian Development Bank.

It is not surprising that essay contest winners are active members of their school’s official publication. Ms. Dalyn R. Oliveros is News Editor, ASU Makato, Ms. Marry Claire Gellang – Editor in-Chief ACC and Mr. Albert T. Rapista – Managing Editor GCT. Our contestants have the best chance given their talents, literary skills and preparation to romp away with the coveted prizes.
Gracing the award ceremonies are school paper advisers namely: Ms. Dareen N. Naelgas, ACC, Mr. Lyndon T. Custodio, GCT, and Dr. Marivel S. Villorente, ASU Makato. Mr. Odon S. Bandiola, SP Secretary served as Chairman, contest Board of Judges. /MP

No comments: