Wednesday, July 15, 2015



Gear up for a new and exciting musical competition as GMA Network launches on television its first-ever multi-platform boy band search –TO THE TOP.

Produced by GMA Public Affairs and set to air on July 18, TO THE TOP is a twice-a-week reality-based, talent development program featuring 18 young and gifted male vocals who are all vying to be part of the Kapuso Network’s newest boy band.

Helping the program achieve this are some of the country’s top music icons led by no less than Maestro Ryan Cayab-yab serving as the competition’s main judge.

Joining The Maestro in this project are vocal coaches Moy Ortiz, Sweet Plantado and OJ Mariano of the Philippines’ premier vocal ensemble The CompanY; dance coaches and 2-time World Hip Hop Champions Philippine Allstars alumni Madelle and Prince Paltu-ob, as well as international breakdancing champion Jesse “Reflex” Gotangco; and the Sound Squad of musical arrangers and sound engineers led by Jonathan Ong and his team from Sonic State Audio -- Chino David, Chrisanthony Vinzons and Brian Lotho.

Also lending his expertise in the early part of the competition is celebrity ace photographer Mark Nicdao.
Unlike other reality programs which held open auditions, TO THE TOP scoured the country and invited the best male vocals from different schools and organizations to join the auditions.

From their auditions to determining the finalists, TO THE TOP documents the journey of these young men from being solo artists or being members of their respective singing groups to ultimately becoming part of the country’s newest boy band.

All these experiences were seen by the public when GMA made the competition initially available online via  Serving as host of the program’s webisodes is Kapuso homegrown artist Julian Trono, who recently underwent intensive training under the Kpop system.

 After a series of rigorous auditions, the program announced its 25 finalists, which were later trimmed down to 14. Adding a twist to the competition, netizens were then asked to vote for their favorites who were earlier eliminated in the series to become the competition’s wildcards.  Thus, a total of 18 finalists will now work their way to the top.

The 18 TO THE TOP artists are AJ Ajrouche, Lance Busa, Ken Carpena, Mico Cruz, Cholo dela Cruz, Martin de Vera, Luis Gragera, Joshua Jacobe, MJ Magno, Miko Manguba, Seph Manlapaz, Bryan Olano, JP Palanca, Adrian Pascual, Louie Pedroso, Lharby Policarpio, Edric Ulang and Chris Yumang.

Throughout the season, the artists – who will be divided into three groups – will be housed together and will undergo more intensive vocal and dance trainings for their upcoming performances and evaluations.

Who among them will make it TO THE TOP? Find out as the showdowns begin this July 18, 7:30pm on GMA Network’s TO THE TOP. /MP

No comments: